Exposure visit program II for the Faculties from eastern university, Sri Lanka, 14-21 November 2016

This one week customized training/exposure visit program is prepared for the team of academicians of Eastern University of Sri Lanka in response to a request from Dr. K. E. Karunakaran, Deputy Vice Chancellor, Eastern University, Sri Lanka and on the basis of discussion between Dr. P. Abdul Salam, Associate Professor, SERD, AIT and the Vice Chancellor of Eastern University of Sri Lanka. This proposal is designed for the academics from the social science stream.


This 7-day exposure visit program aims to provide an avenue for academicians and personnel in the social science based program to enhance their capacity through discussions on the best practices and modern trend in teaching-learning methods. The course will focus on the academic research activities, education administration and management, industrial linkages and student counselling in higher learning.


The Eastern University, Sri Lanka, was established on the 01st of October 1986 by a University Order dated 26th September 1986 issued under Section 2 of the Universities Act No: 16 of 1978. The University was preceded by the Batticaloa University College established on 01st August 1981 which was started in the buildings of the Vantharumoolai Madya Maha Vidyalayam. In addition, over 100 acres of land have been added to the original Campus. Student hostels and staff quarters have been constructed on this land and many new buildings are planned. The Batticaloa University College began with two faculties: The Faculty of Science and the Faculty of Agriculture and both these faculties were affiliated to the University of Peradeniya. Two new faculties viz. the Faculty of Commerce & Management with the Departments of Economics, Commerce & Management, and the Faculty of Cultural Studies with the Departments of Arabic, Islamic Studies and Fine Arts were established in 1988. The Faculty of Cultural Studies was then expanded to include the Department of Languages and the Department of Social Science and renamed the Faculty of Arts & Culture in 1991.

PARTICIPANTS: The participants for this course will be a team of academic staff selected by Eastern University, Sri Lanka.  There will be about 20-25 participants in two streams, science and social science.  For the social science stream, 13 participants will attend the training.


COURSE COORDINATOR: Mrs. Thaniya Jirasathitpornpong

CONTACT: Mr. Fazle Karim,
 Head,Information Technology & Engineering
 AIT Extension, Asian Institute of Technology
 Email: fazlekarimait@gmail.com